A Cars forum. AutoBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AutoBanter forum » Auto newsgroups » Technology
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

how does the map get into the radio?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 11th 18, 05:15 AM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
micky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 360
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In a new car radio with GPS, how does the map get into the radio? Does
it receive cellular data, wifi, or come already installed?

What if you want to install the next year's version?

My current 2005 toyota has a map on DVD, and it's not got all the roads,
even the ones that existed then. A repacement DVD is 90+ dollars!
but mine is good. OTOH, one for 2011 is only $20, but I'm guessing it
won't work right??? And I don't know if it has many more roads or not.
Maybe it only has more recent stores.

And I don't see anything newer than 2011, so I figure they don't use
DVDs anymore. ??

I don't need navigation, only occasionally to know where I am.

If the GPS map on new radios isn't a lot better than what I have, I'd
rather save a couple hundred dollars and get a radio withou it.
Ads
  #2  
Old July 11th 18, 02:43 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
rbowman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 138
Default how does the map get into the radio?

On 07/10/2018 10:15 PM, micky wrote:
> I don't need navigation, only occasionally to know where I am.


Micky, GPSs can't work miracles.


> If the GPS map on new radios isn't a lot better than what I have, I'd
> rather save a couple hundred dollars and get a radio withou it.


There are a confusing number of models but you can get a Garmin Nuvi for
less than $100 with lifetime map updates. The updates are done with
wifi. The ones with real time traffic updates are more expensive and
may not be useful depending on where you live.

Digital maps have varying quality data. Urban areas are usually more up
to date than rural.

  #3  
Old July 11th 18, 03:18 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
Ralph Mowery
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In article >, NONONOmisc07
@bigfoot.com says...
>
> I don't need navigation, only occasionally to know where I am.
>
> If the GPS map on new radios isn't a lot better than what I have, I'd
> rather save a couple hundred dollars and get a radio withou it.
>
>


Get the radio without it.

I don't know about the prices, but some of the new cars with navigation
have a USB slot where you download the maps on a computer and then
transfer them with a USB drive to the car.

As many said, just get a Garman or such with the lifetime updates for
free.


  #4  
Old July 11th 18, 03:47 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
micky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 360
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In rec.autos.tech, on Wed, 11 Jul 2018 10:18:22 -0400, Ralph Mowery
> wrote:

>In article >, NONONOmisc07
says...
>>
>> I don't need navigation, only occasionally to know where I am.
>>
>> If the GPS map on new radios isn't a lot better than what I have, I'd
>> rather save a couple hundred dollars and get a radio withou it.
>>
>>

>
>Get the radio without it.


That would save money, and I'm more likely to find a radio with real
buttons, which are easier to use when driving.

>I don't know about the prices, but some of the new cars with navigation
>have a USB slot where you download the maps on a computer and then
>transfer them with a USB drive to the car.


Thank you for answering my question!

>As many said, just get a Garman or such with the lifetime updates for
>free.


I don't want another device. I just want a radio, which may or may not
have GPS. In order to judge whether to get GPS, I need to know how much
detail the map will have, but if the map is bad, that just means no GPS,
not that I would buy an additional device to have a better map.

Thanks.
  #5  
Old July 11th 18, 03:57 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
micky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 360
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In rec.autos.tech, on Wed, 11 Jul 2018 07:43:26 -0600, rbowman
> wrote:

>On 07/10/2018 10:15 PM, micky wrote:
>> I don't need navigation, only occasionally to know where I am.

>
>Micky, GPSs can't work miracles.


Is it a miracle to tell me where I am?
>
>> If the GPS map on new radios isn't a lot better than what I have, I'd
>> rather save a couple hundred dollars and get a radio withou it.

>
>There are a confusing number of models but you can get a Garmin Nuvi for
>less than $100 with lifetime map updates. The updates are done with
>wifi. The ones with real time traffic updates are more expensive and
>may not be useful depending on where you live.


I don't want another device, just a radio which may or may not have GPS.

I hadn't thoughty about traffic updates, but that would definitely
require a receiver and a higher price. There is pretty much only one
route to take to work, so knowing about the traffic doesn't help.

In Chicago where the streets are on a grid, one can just take a parallel
street if there is traffic, but not here.

>Digital maps have varying quality data. Urban areas are usually more up
>to date than rural.


This DVD does have more streets within Baltimore, but I have a paper
atlas of Baltimore which has all that too, and more, and I rarely go
some place I haven't been to 10 times. The DVD wasn't up to date on
the rural areas even when the car was made. At least it doesn't have
enough detail.
  #6  
Old July 11th 18, 04:06 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
Ralph Mowery
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In article >, NONONOmisc07
@bigfoot.com says...
>
> I don't want another device. I just want a radio, which may or may not
> have GPS. In order to judge whether to get GPS, I need to know how much
> detail the map will have, but if the map is bad, that just means no GPS,
> not that I would buy an additional device to have a better map.
>
>


The maps are usually very close from one GPS to the next if they are
updated.

I don't care too much for the radio, but do like being able to plug in a
USB drive into the audio system to play songs of my choice. You do not
need the GPS option for that.

I bought a 2017 Toyota and it came with sort of a GPS, but not really.
From what I get out of it, it seems that it has a map that works off my
cell phone. You start out with it and it calculates here you are and
which way to turn. If you get off the given route it still thinks you
are on it. So it is worthless.
They do make a true GPS for that car,but it just was not on the one I
bought.

I have a Garman with lifetime updates that I like to use and can move
it between the car and truck as I need to. While not allways accurate
it has a traffic warning for the traffic jams and backups.

  #7  
Old July 11th 18, 04:12 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
micky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 360
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In rec.autos.tech, on Wed, 11 Jul 2018 00:15:24 -0400, micky
> wrote:

>In a new car radio with GPS, how does the map get into the radio? Does
>it receive cellular data, wifi, or come already installed?


No question, just background:

A couple weeks ago I went to Harrisburg, Pa. and took the long way home
to Baltimore because it's more interesting.

Along the east shore of the Susquehanna River. After a while I wanted
to see where I was, largely because there are bridges over the river
near Harrisburg and between Lancaster and York. And again on Route 1
and I-95.

But there is only one bridge in between those 2 areas.

Two years ago I had to ask for directions, and the first 4 people said
they were visitors and didn't know! Turns out, the road to the bridge
doesn't say it goes to the bridge! No signs.


The car's GPS was too vague, and you can only slide the map a little bit
away from where I am now, and even then it bounces back. Zooming out
takes away too much detail.

Because I'd driven this way once before, I'd forgotten to reload maps to
the phone, google maps and maps.me, so google maps only had the map it
comes with that that covers the whole US. Showed where I was, even
though it didnt' show a road there. Almost enough, but not quite.

I ended up using my paper map of the entire state of Pennsylvania, that
is 20 or 30 years old. Can't zoom in but it still had enough landmmarks
and highway numbers that it worked. I carry maps for Md. and adjacent
states in the car all the time.

If the car didn't have GPS, I wouldn't miss it, wouldn't want it, but it
has a rudimentary form of it that tantalizes me.

  #8  
Old July 11th 18, 04:19 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
micky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 360
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In rec.autos.tech, on Wed, 11 Jul 2018 11:06:49 -0400, Ralph Mowery
> wrote:

>In article >, NONONOmisc07
says...
>>
>> I don't want another device. I just want a radio, which may or may not
>> have GPS. In order to judge whether to get GPS, I need to know how much
>> detail the map will have, but if the map is bad, that just means no GPS,
>> not that I would buy an additional device to have a better map.
>>
>>

>
>The maps are usually very close from one GPS to the next if they are
>updated.
>
>I don't care too much for the radio, but do like being able to plug in a
>USB drive into the audio system to play songs of my choice. You do not
>need the GPS option for that.


Right. I do that too. But not from a port right in the radio. I have
to plug something into the cigarette lighter. Despite that it works,
that was another reason to get a new radio, but I twisted the thing 90
degrees and now I can see the buttons and it's pretty easy to replay a
song or skip to the next song.

>I bought a 2017 Toyota and it came with sort of a GPS, but not really.
>From what I get out of it, it seems that it has a map that works off my
>cell phone.


Clever. I didn't have a specific method in mind, but I thought there
would be some 4th method by now. A shame it doesn't work better.

>You start out with it and it calculates here you are and
>which way to turn. If you get off the given route it still thinks you
>are on it. So it is worthless.


Yes. I often see things that make me turn off the route.

>They do make a true GPS for that car,but it just was not on the one I
>bought.
>
> I have a Garman with lifetime updates that I like to use and can move
>it between the car and truck as I need to. While not allways accurate
>it has a traffic warning for the traffic jams and backups.


  #9  
Old July 11th 18, 05:32 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
Frank
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default how does the map get into the radio?

On 7/11/2018 11:06 AM, Ralph Mowery wrote:
> In article >, NONONOmisc07
> @bigfoot.com says...
>>
>> I don't want another device. I just want a radio, which may or may not
>> have GPS. In order to judge whether to get GPS, I need to know how much
>> detail the map will have, but if the map is bad, that just means no GPS,
>> not that I would buy an additional device to have a better map.
>>
>>

>
> The maps are usually very close from one GPS to the next if they are
> updated.
>
> I don't care too much for the radio, but do like being able to plug in a
> USB drive into the audio system to play songs of my choice. You do not
> need the GPS option for that.
>
> I bought a 2017 Toyota and it came with sort of a GPS, but not really.
> From what I get out of it, it seems that it has a map that works off my
> cell phone. You start out with it and it calculates here you are and
> which way to turn. If you get off the given route it still thinks you
> are on it. So it is worthless.
> They do make a true GPS for that car,but it just was not on the one I
> bought.
>
> I have a Garman with lifetime updates that I like to use and can move
> it between the car and truck as I need to. While not allways accurate
> it has a traffic warning for the traffic jams and backups.
>


I have a Garmin too with lifetime maps and traffic but had to fight with
it yesterday having to route around a road closure when it kept trying
to reroute me back to it. Not the first time I've either had to ignore
it or turn it off.

Don't know about current Toyota's but a friend said it would cost $200
to have dealer put new maps in his Rav 4. Garmin maps may be updated as
much as four times a year. It is not just road changes but new business
openings and business addresses changing.
  #10  
Old July 11th 18, 06:28 PM posted to alt.home.repair,rec.autos.tech
micky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 360
Default how does the map get into the radio?

In rec.autos.tech, on Wed, 11 Jul 2018 12:32:56 -0400, Frank <"frank
> wrote:

>On 7/11/2018 11:06 AM, Ralph Mowery wrote:
>> In article >, NONONOmisc07
>> @bigfoot.com says...
>>>
>>> I don't want another device. I just want a radio, which may or may not
>>> have GPS. In order to judge whether to get GPS, I need to know how much
>>> detail the map will have, but if the map is bad, that just means no GPS,
>>> not that I would buy an additional device to have a better map.
>>>
>>>

>>
>> The maps are usually very close from one GPS to the next if they are
>> updated.
>>
>> I don't care too much for the radio, but do like being able to plug in a
>> USB drive into the audio system to play songs of my choice. You do not
>> need the GPS option for that.
>>
>> I bought a 2017 Toyota and it came with sort of a GPS, but not really.
>> From what I get out of it, it seems that it has a map that works off my
>> cell phone. You start out with it and it calculates here you are and
>> which way to turn. If you get off the given route it still thinks you
>> are on it. So it is worthless.
>> They do make a true GPS for that car,but it just was not on the one I
>> bought.
>>
>> I have a Garman with lifetime updates that I like to use and can move
>> it between the car and truck as I need to. While not allways accurate
>> it has a traffic warning for the traffic jams and backups.
>>

>
>I have a Garmin too with lifetime maps and traffic but had to fight with
>it yesterday having to route around a road closure when it kept trying
>to reroute me back to it. Not the first time I've either had to ignore
>it or turn it off.
>
>Don't know about current Toyota's but a friend said it would cost $200
>to have dealer put new maps in his Rav 4. Garmin maps may be updated as


Wow. I'd rather be lost than spend $200.

I mean, they found the Thai cavers. Surely someone would find me
eventually.

>much as four times a year. It is not just road changes but new business
>openings and business addresses changing.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a DIN-sized business CD radio in an E36 bought with an aftermarket radio George[_13_] BMW 1 May 3rd 07 10:50 AM
Set Radio Clock and Stations AC Delcon Radio Older Car [email protected] Technology 0 July 29th 06 08:43 PM
How to replace radio with cassette to radio cd player? BKSCHUIT BMW 2 November 13th 05 12:29 PM
Sirus Radio Display Info Help SAT Radio GringoJoe Driving 0 October 3rd 05 09:31 PM
The radio display is completely dead, however, the radio is still operational. sean1234 Ford Explorer 11 February 15th 05 02:54 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 AutoBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.