A Cars forum. AutoBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AutoBanter forum » Auto newsgroups » Technology
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Fuel pressure issue - 95 Astro - please help



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old February 5th 05, 10:58 PM
Rich
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


> wrote in message
ups.com...
> I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
> from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>
> This is getting expensive
>


Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and the
cheapest.

If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of labor
there emptying the tank.



Ads
  #12  
Old February 5th 05, 11:04 PM
Lawrence Glickman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 05 Feb 2005 22:58:45 GMT, "Rich" > wrote:

>
> wrote in message
oups.com...
>> I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
>> from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>>
>> This is getting expensive
>>

>
>Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and the
>cheapest.
>
>If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of labor
>there emptying the tank.


No labor emptying tank. Use a siphon hose, and then to get the last
bits, run the engine until it stalls from no fuel. Depending on how
much fuel is in the tank now, just put it into a couple of large-sized
gasoline cans.

Lg

  #13  
Old February 5th 05, 11:10 PM
Rich
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
...
> On Sat, 05 Feb 2005 22:58:45 GMT, "Rich" > wrote:
>
> >
> > wrote in message
> oups.com...
> >> I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
> >> from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
> >>
> >> This is getting expensive
> >>

> >
> >Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and

the
> >cheapest.
> >
> >If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of

labor
> >there emptying the tank.

>
> No labor emptying tank. Use a siphon hose, and then to get the last
> bits, run the engine until it stalls from no fuel. Depending on how
> much fuel is in the tank now, just put it into a couple of large-sized
> gasoline cans.
>
> Lg
>


Labor if you have it filled (27 Gallons) <Grin>


  #14  
Old February 6th 05, 02:32 AM
Bob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
...
> On 5 Feb 2005 12:18:43 -0800, wrote:
>
>>I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
>>from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>>
>>This is getting expensive

>
> The only way I know of monitoring your fuel pressure "while you are
> driving around" is to have somebody plugged into your OBDII connector
> with a real-time scanner, OR, use a data logger ( e.g. Davis
> DriveRight CarChip, or record on a portable PC with a program like
> AutoTap ).


Nice guess Larry but since his PCM has absolutely no clue what the fuel
pressure is, your data logger won't work. It may be able to moniter several
things but fuel pressure isn't among them.
Bob


> I find that static one-shot readings don't really tell the whole story
> of what is going on, that is why I keep a data logger plugged into the
> OBDII port all the time. At 5 second test sweeps, it monitors up to
> 25 continuous hours of running time. At 60 second intervals, 300
> continuous hours of running time. I keep it at the 5 seconds sampling
> frequency and can watch what is really going on during all kinds of
> driving conditions.
>
> I might pull it out ever 2 or 3 weeks and look at the graphs. If
> everything looks OK, I clear the chip memory and plug it back in.
> Even once a month would be OK, as I've never used more than 22% of the
> memory although I take a _lot_ of short trips.
>
> You can then discard the data, or save it to a file for future
> reference. I call it my "flight recorder."
>
> Lg
>



  #15  
Old February 6th 05, 02:43 AM
Bob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
...
> On Sat, 05 Feb 2005 22:58:45 GMT, "Rich" > wrote:
>
>>
> wrote in message
roups.com...
>>> I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
>>> from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>>>
>>> This is getting expensive
>>>

>>
>>Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and
>>the
>>cheapest.
>>
>>If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of labor
>>there emptying the tank.

>
> No labor emptying tank. Use a siphon hose, and then to get the last
> bits, run the engine until it stalls from no fuel. Depending on how
> much fuel is in the tank now, just put it into a couple of large-sized
> gasoline cans.
>
> Lg
>

Another nice try Larry, stick a siphon hose in your Taurus and let us know
how much luck you have siphoning the fuel out of it.
Bob


  #17  
Old February 6th 05, 03:26 AM
Bob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"TranSurgeon" > wrote in message
news:[email protected]_s53...
>
> "Bob" > wrote in message
> ...
>>
>> "Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
>> ...
>> > On 5 Feb 2005 12:18:43 -0800, wrote:
>> >
>> >>I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
>> >>from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>> >>
>> >>This is getting expensive
>> >
>> > The only way I know of monitoring your fuel pressure "while you are
>> > driving around" is to have somebody plugged into your OBDII connector
>> > with a real-time scanner, OR, use a data logger ( e.g. Davis
>> > DriveRight CarChip, or record on a portable PC with a program like
>> > AutoTap ).

>>
>> Nice guess Larry but since his PCM has absolutely no clue what the fuel
>> pressure is, your data logger won't work. It may be able to moniter

> several
>> things but fuel pressure isn't among them.
>> Bob

>
> not directly, but here's a thought:
>
> I get a LOT of GM trucks with a 'no 4th gear' complaint
>
> if you drive it just right, it WILL go into 4th............but the problem
> is plugged fuel filter, thus more throttle pressure, thus ECM keeps it in
> third
>
> SO:
>
> do what I do to demonstrate to the customer where the problem
> is...............monitor O2 sensors + injector pulse width
>
> if you see O2 going lean and at the same time the IPW is getting longer
> and
> longer, you have a fuel delivery problem.............filter or pump
>
> just a thought
>
> G
>

That's true enough Gary, but it still doesn't change the fact that Glickman
is full of ****.... yet again.... The PCM doesn't have a clue what the fuel
pressure is. It may think the engine is lean due to the feedback it gets
from the O2 sensors and increase the fuel trim to compensate. But it still
doesn't know if the problem is fuel pressure, a bad sensor, or something
else. It just knows it is having to add fuel to get an O2 response and will
set a code if it reaches a certain limit.
Bob


  #18  
Old February 6th 05, 05:38 AM
TaskMule
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Bob" > wrote in message
news
>
> "Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
> ...
> > On Sat, 05 Feb 2005 22:58:45 GMT, "Rich" > wrote:
> >
> >>
> > wrote in message
> roups.com...
> >>> I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my

exaust/convert
> >>> from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
> >>>
> >>> This is getting expensive
> >>>
> >>
> >>Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and
> >>the
> >>cheapest.
> >>
> >>If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of

labor
> >>there emptying the tank.

> >
> > No labor emptying tank. Use a siphon hose, and then to get the last
> > bits, run the engine until it stalls from no fuel. Depending on how
> > much fuel is in the tank now, just put it into a couple of large-sized
> > gasoline cans.
> >
> > Lg
> >

> Another nice try Larry, stick a siphon hose in your Taurus and let us know
> how much luck you have siphoning the fuel out of it.
> Bob


Actually if your removing the tank one of the first things you do is
disconnect the filler pipe. Then you siphon. It doesn't get any easier. As
for running the engine till the last bit is out, a total waste of time.


  #19  
Old February 6th 05, 05:45 AM
ed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rich wrote:
> "Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
> ...
>
>>On Sat, 05 Feb 2005 22:58:45 GMT, "Rich" > wrote:
>>
>>
> wrote in message
groups.com...
>>>
>>>>I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
>>>>from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>>>>
>>>>This is getting expensive
>>>>
>>>
>>>Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and

>
> the
>
>>>cheapest.
>>>
>>>If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of

>
> labor
>
>>>there emptying the tank.

>>
>>No labor emptying tank. Use a siphon hose, and then to get the last
>>bits, run the engine until it stalls from no fuel. Depending on how
>>much fuel is in the tank now, just put it into a couple of large-sized
>>gasoline cans.
>>
>>Lg
>>

>
>
> Labor if you have it filled (27 Gallons) <Grin>
>
>

I tell ya, go back over what you've already done.
You may have a bad part in the plenum area. Also, there is a strainer in
the tank with the fuel 'assembly'. Is that replaced? That fuel assembly
is best changed completely out and not piece-mealed.
  #20  
Old February 6th 05, 05:46 AM
ed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rich wrote:
> "Lawrence Glickman" > wrote in message
> ...
>
>>On Sat, 05 Feb 2005 22:58:45 GMT, "Rich" > wrote:
>>
>>
> wrote in message
groups.com...
>>>
>>>>I think that is what I will try now. I just replaced my exaust/convert
>>>>from the O2 sensor back and it did not help.
>>>>
>>>>This is getting expensive
>>>>
>>>
>>>Have you replaced the external fuel filter? First thing to replace and

>
> the
>
>>>cheapest.
>>>
>>>If not that I will suspect the filter or pump in the tank. A lot of

>
> labor
>
>>>there emptying the tank.

>>
>>No labor emptying tank. Use a siphon hose, and then to get the last
>>bits, run the engine until it stalls from no fuel. Depending on how
>>much fuel is in the tank now, just put it into a couple of large-sized
>>gasoline cans.
>>
>>Lg
>>

>
>
> Labor if you have it filled (27 Gallons) <Grin>
>
>

I tell ya, go back over what you've already done.
You may have a bad part in the plenum area. Also, there is a strainer in
the tank with the fuel 'assembly'. Is that replaced? That fuel assembly
is best changed completely out and not piece-mealed.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed Smog Check 1981 Trans AM TheSmogTech Technology 0 January 30th 05 04:16 PM
CIS-E leaking fuel from differential pressure regulator! Theo VW water cooled 2 January 12th 05 05:04 PM
'99 Explorer Fuel pressure problem Tim South Ford Explorer 2 December 20th 04 05:49 PM
Nissan truck vg30e fuel pressure regulator location? Victor 4x4 4 November 16th 04 05:12 PM
76 Difficult Cold Starts daveo76 Corvette 22 September 9th 04 12:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2018 AutoBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.